Baking With Tea: Earl Grey Chocolate Cake

I have finally tried baking with tea! Super excited to share the recipe and results here.

and chocolate!

What is it?

A variation of this recipe for a fudgy earl grey orange chocolate cake!

I made a the following substitutions from the original recipe and didn’t end up making the glaze:

  • For Cake:
  • 1 cups cups yogurt (instead of 1 1/4 cups unsweetened applesauce)
  • 3/4 cup strongly brewed lavender earl grey tea (instead of earl grey tea)
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil (instead of melted refined coconut oil)
  • 3/4 cup regular sugar (instead of coconut sugar or cane sugar)
this is the tea I used!

Tasting Notes

I definitely tasted the orange and chocolate–there was a slight hint of earl grey. Overall not too sweet. It wasn’t quite the same as those lovely earl grey truffles, but I’d try making this again!

Why I made it

I’ve always enjoyed tea and tea flavored things (especially those tea chocolates I talked about last week). I was inspired by Kimberly from Tea is A Wish Your Heart Makes to try my hand at baking with tea!

I was debating between making this NYT times recipe vs. the one I made above. Both were similar in that they combined chocolate, orange, and earl grey, but I liked the fact that this one used cocoa powder. The chocolate chips I had originally purchased for the other recipe were almost done hehe 🙂

Sharing Good News

Here are two things I enjoyed:

And a few things keeping my spirits up lately:

  1. We had the perfect weather this weekend in Chicago and enjoyed time with friends outside. I got to share this cake on a picnic with some friends 🙂
  2. We also discovered this awesome nature walk/park south of Lincoln Park that’s not too far from our home–there are still so many places to explore!!

Ways to Help
I’ll feature a different organization on each blog post. Full list here (COVID) and here (BLM)

Today’s Organization: Good Kids Mad City :
Donate $ or Volunteer

GKMC – Englewood is always searching for partners in the community to collaborate with, as well as community volunteers and youth to be involved in the ongoing effort to create a better community. From leadership development workshops to direct community service.  We are always searching for a better way to impact the lives of those we serve and preparing them to be the future leaders of the generation.

Thanks, and enjoy your week!
Meeka

One thought on “Baking With Tea: Earl Grey Chocolate Cake

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started