My First Teapot

Lately I’ve been switching between, Paris tea, Lavender earl grey, and Soho almost daily. So instead of talking about what new tea I’ve discovered in my pantry, I’m going to talk about my tea accoutrement collection! First up, is the teapot that started it all…

yay teapot!!

What is it?

Certified International Teapot in Teal with infuser, 22 oz.

How do I use it?

The teapot comes with a mesh infuser that sits in the top, and there’s a removable metal flip top lid. I’ve used this for all sorts of different loose teas, but it’s probably better suited for smaller leaves vs. leaves that need to expand. It keeps the tea warm for ~1 hour or so.

Super easy to clean and dishwasher safe, though I end up handwashing most times. I do wish it was microwaveable (can’t be because of the infuser plus metal lid) but besides that, it’s super handy and makes a good 3 cups of tea (or, if you like your cups a little bigger, 2.25 🙂 )

I want one! Where I can find it?

Unfortunately, it’s no longer available in stores. However, there’s some available via eBay or Poshmark.

How it came to my cupboard

This has been my trusty old teapot since…2012? 2013? At least 6 years, in any case! My sister bought it as a birthday present when I was in college.

random 2016 picture of teapot + cake

Apparently when we were walking through a Macy’s I pointed this exact teapot out. Months later, she remembered that I liked this teapot in this color and surprised me. Side note–my sister is the BEST at gifts. Like always incredibly thoughtful, meaningful, and useful, and even within years of awesome gifts, this has to be one of the best presents I’ve ever received.

As I’ve written about before, this was my first teapot with an infuser and it Changed. My. Life. My sister also bought me my first loose leaf teas from Harney & Sons around when she gave me this teapot. It was my prized possession in college, at home, and then in my first apartment after college.

my quaranteane drink station, March 2020 🙂

Throughout quarantine, I use it, if not daily, at least 2x a week. It seriously is the perfect size for a good few cups of tea.

Sharing Good News

Here are two things I enjoyed:

And a few things keeping my spirits up lately:

Low moods from June continued through most of July, but am feeling re-energized this week.

  1. Watched a super cool shadow puppet/cinema production, “Lula del Ray” by Manual Cinema. They’re presenting a different work (free w/ suggested donation) each week for their 10th anniversary!
  2. Started re-watching Avatar: The Last Airbender on Netflix. Forgot how good that show is!
  3. Admittedly felt pretty low last week, but was able to get myself to start moving, go on walks, and reach out to friends. Felt a lot better than when I started 🙂

Ways to Help
I’ll feature a different organization on each blog post. Full list here (COVID) and here (BLM)

Today’s Organization: Global Girls Inc.
Donate $

“Global Girls Inc. was incorporated in 2000 and has established itself as an engaging and often cutting-edge youth performing arts/arts education organization on the south side of Chicago.  We provide a safe space where girls ages 8-18 learn communication, presentation and performance skills. Over 2,000 youth participate annually in community and school based programs. During the weekly sessions, girls and a few boys learn skills to investigate their world and then turn their findings into performance pieces. The result is socially conscious, youth driven theatre that gives voice to girls’ issues and concerns.”

Thanks, and enjoy your week!
Meeka

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started